

Minutes 95th Annual Membership Meeting Monday October 2, 2022

The president called the meeting, which was held virtually, to order at 7:01 pm ET. There were 10 deacons present, plus the proxy voters, which was a quorum; one lay person was present, but not voting. The chaplain opened the meeting with prayer, and read the Necrology.

Dn. McCoy referenced the rules for participation in the Zoom meeting. He appointed Dn. Anne Pillot and himself as the tellers and proxy holders. He pointed out that the minutes of the 94th annual meeting had been previously approved and were posted to the website.

Dn. Franken reported on the finances of the Fund. He stated that the Fund's overall assets were at \$7.1M, about where we were five years before. However, we had given out almost \$1M in grants in that time from our income, in addition to employing two (and recently 3) part-time staff, and other expenses. Dn. McCoy highlighted the significant board actions of the past year, all of which were reported in *Diakoneo* every quarter. It was also announced that the Advancing the Diaconate campaign, a joint effort with the Association for Episcopal Deacons, would conclude on schedule next June 30.

Dn. Swanson, as the Fund liaison to the AED board, reported that AED had hired Dr. Carter Hawley as their new part-time executive director, and that they were hoping to have a triennial conference in 2025.

Dr. Nesbit reported on the Nomination Committee's work for this year's election. The tellers reported that there were 3234 deacons eligible to vote as of August 22, 2022: 2777 received an electronic ballot, 317 a paper ballot; 140 deacons had no address on record. 485 ballots were cast, or 15.7%. Balloting closed before the meeting. Results:

Brian Nordwick	282
Tim Spannaus	259
Geri Swanson	362
Margaret Thor	319
Write-ins	(1 each for Charles DeGravelles, Michael Hackett, Donna
	Sanford, and Philip Wild)
Abstentions	228
Invalid	1

Dns. Swanson, Thor, and Nordwick were declared elected to three-year terms.

There was no old or new business. On motion and second (Green/Franken), it was voted to adjourn the meeting at 7:35 pm.

W. Keith McCoy President